SCOTT GARRETT

5TH DISTRICT, NEW JERSEY

FINANCIAL SERVICES COMMITTEE

CAPITAL MARKETS, INSURANCE, AND GOVERNMENT SPONSORED ENTERPRISES SUBCOMMETTEE

FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND CONSUMER CREDIT SUBCOMMITTEE

HOUSING AND COMMUNITY OPPORTUNITY SUBCOMMITTEE

BUDGET COMMITTEE

REPUBLICAN POLICY COMMITTEE

The President
The White House

Washington, D.C. 20500

Dear Mr. President.

## Congress of the United States House of Representatives

Washington, DC 20515-3005

May 30, 2008

1318 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 {202} 225-4465 Fax: (202) 225-9048

> 210 ROUTE 4 EAST SUITE 206 PARAMUS, NJ 07652 (201) 712-0330 FAX: (201) 712-0930

93 Main Street Newton, NJ 07860 (973) 300-2000 Fax: (973) 300-1051

We are writing to express our deep concern about the atrocities the government of Sudan continues to commit against its own citizens. As the Administration prepares to assume the presidency of the UN Security Council this Sunday for the month of June, we call for strong US leadership and action at the UN to protect civilians and hold the government of Sudan accountable for its flagrant defiance of numerous Security Council Resolutions on Darfur. So long as the Government of Sudan continues to target innocent civilians, we have deep reservations about ongoing bilateral US negotiations with Sudan. There should be no discussion regarding a favorable shift in US policy toward Sudan until the regime in Khartoum demonstrates a commitment to change its human rights policies and practices.

In 2004, the United States declared the atrocities in Darfur to be genocide. More than 400,000 have been killed and an estimated 2.5 million people have been displaced, and the crisis continues to escalate. Since January 2008, Khartoum has carried out a series of attacks on civilians, including aerial bombardments of three West Darfur villages on February 8, which resulted in the deaths of hundreds of civilians. The bombardments used attack helicopters in violation of the ban on offensive military overflights imposed by the Security Council under Resolution 1591. The aerial bombardments were supported by government-backed Janjaweed militia, underscoring the Government of Sudan's failure to disarm the Janjaweed in continuing violation of Security Council Resolution 1556 of 2004.

The government of Sudan also continues to block the full deployment of UNAMID (the United Nations African Union Mission in Darfur) by refusing to formally approve a UN-submitted list of potential troop contributors; by refusing most additional "non-African" troops, thus violating the intent of Resolution 1769; by refusing to lease suitable land for use as UNAMID bases in Darfur; and by unreasonably attempting to impose a nighttime curfew on UNAMID operations. In a recent egregious act, the Government of Sudan's Armed Forces itself attacked a UNAMID convoy on the night of January 7, 2008. While we commend Special Envoy Richard Williamson for making full UNAMID deployment a priority for the Administration's negotiations with the Government of Sudan, we are highly concerned about potential US concessions that could be made in the course of future negotiations to a government that continues to be a dishonest broker in resolving the Darfur crisis.

The Sudanese government also openly flouts international law by committing grave crimes in Darfur with impunity. In January, Musa Hilal, the notorious Janjaweed leader who is subject to both Security Council sanctions under Resolution 1591 and also US sanctions for his role in

Darfur's atrocities, was given a special advisory position by President Omar Bashir. Ambassador Zalmay Khalilzad rightly criticized this appointment as Khartoum showing "contempt for the rule of law." The Sudanese government's disregard for accountability was again recently demonstrated by the reported promotion of General Awad Ibn Auf, former head of Military Intelligence and Security, to Deputy Chief of the Joint Staff. The Administration placed General Auf on the US sanctions list in May 2007 for his role in the Darfur conflict.

Furthermore, in clear defiance of Resolution 1593 which referred the Darfur situation to the International Criminal Court (ICC), Khartoum refuses to hand over two men accused by the ICC of committing 51 counts of war crimes and crimes against humanity in Darfur. The ICC Chief Prosecutor's scheduled June report to the Security Council will in all likelihood confirm Sudan's noncompliance with Resolution 1593. This report provides the US with a concrete opportunity to lead the Security Council in condemning Sudan's policy of outright obstructionism on Resolution 1593 and other Darfur-related resolutions.

Mr. President, as Republican and Democratic members of Congress, we represent the vast majority of the American people who stand in solidarity with millions of Darfurians and other innocent civilians in Sudan. In the face of ongoing atrocities and violence, all eyes are on the US at the Security Council to act swiftly and decisively on Darfur. We therefore respectfully urge you to impose the following benchmarks through the Security Council:

- 1. The Government of Sudan must immediately cease all deliberate or indiscriminate attacks on civilians.
- 2. The Government of Sudan must allow the full deployment of UNAMID forces in accordance with Resolution 1769, and ensure that UNAMID forces have freedom of movement throughout Darfur and can carry out their mandate unrestricted.
- 3. The Government of Sudan must provide humanitarian aid organizations and workers with unhindered access to Darfur.
- 4. The Government of Sudan must hand over to the ICC all indicted individuals without any delay as required by Resolution 1593.
- 5. The Government of Sudan must fully implement the targeted sanctions imposed on four individuals under Resolution 1591, in particular Janjaweed leader Musa Hilal.

We look forward to working with you in our continued efforts to end the suffering in Darfur and establishing lasting peace in Sudan.

Sincerely,

Scott Garrett

Member of Congress

Michael E. Capuano

Member of Congress

I tu Chalt Steve Chabot Member of Congress Member of Congress C. Porter Jean Schmidt Member of Congress Member of Congress Pete Stark Member of Congress Member of Congress John Shadegg Charles Gonzalez Member of Congress Member of Congress Tom Feeney Tim Walberg Member of Congress Member of Congress Michael Doyle Member of Congress Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Doug Lamborn

Member of Congress

Ral Siller
Brad Miller

Member of Congress

William Jefferson
Member of Congress

Donald Payne
Member of Congress

Vim Saxton Member of Congress

Barney Frank
Member of Congress

James Oberstar Member of Congress

Roscoe Bartlett
Member of Congress

Caul Bry

loran

Paul Broun

Member of Congress

Jerry Moran

Member of Congress

Michael R. McNulty

Michael R. McNulty Member of Congress

Melvin Watt

Member of Congress

Mafine Materia

Maxine Waters
Member of Congress

Jerry Costello Member of Congress

Sheile Jackson Lee
Member of Congress

James McGovern Member of Congress

Kush Holl

Rush Holt Member of Congress

Paul Ryan

Member of Congress

Thomas Tancredo
Member of Congress

Frent Franks
Member of Congress

David Reichert Member of Congress

Michael Honda Member of Congress David Davis

Member of Congress

Janice Schakowsky Member of Congress

Keith Ellison Member of Congress

Lynn Westmoreland Member of Congress

Dwid Loebsack Member of Congress

Thaddeus McCotter Member of Congress

Betty Sutton

Member of Congress

Barbara Lee

Member of Congress

Tammy Baldwin Member of Congress

John Shimkus Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Diana DeGette Member of Congress

Mark Kirk Member of Congress Dennis Kucinick Member of Congress

Danie Lungren Member of Congress

Michael McCaul Member of Congress

Peter DeFazio Member of Congress

Tames Moran Member of Congress