

CHALLENGES AND OPPORTUNITIES FOR THE UNIVERSALITY OF THE ROME STATUTE SYSTEM: STRATEGIES & BEST PRACTICES TAILORED TO THE ASIA-PACIFIC REGION

Hosted by the Netherlands and the Republic of Korea
Thursday, 06 December 2018
13:15 – 14:45, Oceania 2 (cold lunch provided)
The World Forum, The Hague, The Netherlands

List of Participants

Members of Parliament

1. Barbara Lochbihler, MEP (Germany), Vice-Chairperson of the Human Rights Sub-Committee of the European Parliament; PGA's Board Member and Convenor of the International Law and Human Rights Programme/Rome Statute Campaign

States Representatives and International Organizations Officials

- **2. H.E. Sheikh Mohammed Belal**, Ambassador of the People's Republic of Bangladesh to the Kingdom of the Netherlands
- 3. Nawrid Sharmin, Embassy of the People's Republic of Bangladesh to the Kingdom of the Netherlands
- 4. Niina Nyrhinen, Legal Adviser, Permanent Mission of Finland to the United Nations
- 5. H.E. Yun Young Lee, Ambassador of the Republic of Korea to the Netherlands
- **6. Judge Seongjun Mo**, Counsellor for Legal Affairs at the Embassy of the Republic of Korea to the Kingdom of the Netherlands
- 7. Doosun Baek, Embassy of the Republic of Korea to the Kingdom of the Netherlands
- 8. Hwanki Lee, Embassy of the Republic of Korea to the Kingdom of the Netherlands
- 9. Juhee Han, Embassy of the Republic of Korea to the Kingdom of the Netherlands
- 10. Hyun Jin Kwon, Minister of Foreign Affairs from Republic of Korea
- 11. Thomas Wunder, Embassy of Germany to the Kingdom of the Netherlands
- 12. Ahmad Zuwairi Yusoff, Embassy of Malaysia to the Kingdom of the Netherlands
- 13. Fadhilah Halimatus Shifa Kusumaningrum, Embassy of Malaysia to the Kingdom of the Netherlands
- **14. H.E. Paul Van den Ijssel**, Permanent Representative of the Kingdom of the Netherlands to the Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons and the International Criminal Court
- **15. Nynke Staal**, Policy Officer on the International Criminal Court of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Netherlands
- 16. Cloe Hendriks, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Netherlands

- 17. Victoria Hallum, Chief International Legal Adviser of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade of New Zealand
- **18.** Lucas Otero, Embassy of Peru to the Kingdom of the Netherlands
- 19. Luz Ibanez, Embassy of Peru to the Kingdom of the Netherlands
- 20. Andre Stemmet, South African Embassy to the Kingdom of the Netherlands
- 21. Johan David Van Der Vyver, South African Embassy to the Kingdom of the Netherlands
- 22. H. E. Annika Markovic, Ambassador of Sweden to the Kingdom of the Netherlands
- 23. H.E. John Licht, Ambassador of Vanuatu to the European Union

International Criminal Court (ICC) Officials

- 24. H.E. Mr. O-Gon Kwon, President of the Assembly of States Parties to the Rome Statute of the ICC
- 25. Dr. Woong Kyu Sung, Special Assistant to the President of the Assembly of States Parties of the ICC
- 26. Dr. Aaron Matta, Legal Officer at the Secretariat of the Assembly of States Parties of the ICC
- 27. Matias Hellman, External Relations Adviser at the ICC Presidency
- 28. Sophie Courtmans, Legal Intern in Chambers at the ICC
- 29. Choi Ho Yan Brian, ICC
- 30. Christian Mahr, ICC
- 31. Christine Martin Hartwig, ICC
- 32. Georgia Rycroft, ICC
- 33. Sash Jayawardane, ICC

Civil Society

- 34. Ray Paolo J. Santiago, Executive Director, Ateneo Human Rights Center
- 35. Andrew Khoo, Co-Chair of the Constitutional Law Committee, Bar Council Malaysia
- 36. Andrew Khoo, Member of the Human Rights Committee, Bar Council Malaysia
- 37. Xiao Mao, Advisor, Chinese Initiative on International Law
- **38. Ariel Wheway**, Canadian Partnership for International Justice, Coalition for the International Criminal Court (CICC)
- 39. Kelly Phan, CICC

- 40. Bhatara Ibnu Reza, Expert-member and Spokeperson, CICC in Indonesia
- 41. Ata Turkfiliz, European Law Students Association (ELSA) International
- 42. Georgiana Costescu, ELSA International
- 43. Maurus Wollensak, ELSA International
- 44. Erica Ianni, No Peace Without Justice
- 45. Raphael Dias e Silva, No Peace Without Justice
- 46. Phedra Neel, Research Associate, PILPG
- 47. Juan Gutierrez, Lawyer, Representative of the Victims at the ICC
- 48. Justinas Zilinskas, IHFFC
- 49. Jutta Bertram-Nothnagel, International Association of Lawyers Against Nuclear Arms
- 50. Rebecca A. Shoot, President, International Refugee Assistance Project
- 51. Viviane Dittrich, International Nuremberg Principles Academy
- **52. Dr. Nevenka Tromo,** University of Amsterdam, *formerly ICTY*
- **53. Olympia Bekou**, University of Nottingham / Case Matrix Network
- 54. Prof. Young Sok Kim, Ewha Womans University, Seoul, South Korea
- 55. Pia Niederdorfer, Austria
- 56. Anneli Leega Piiskop, Estonia
- 57. Nollez-Goldbach Raphaelle, France
- 58. Maureen Akunja, Republic of Kenya
- 59. Lim Hyunsoo, Republic of Korea
- 60. Seongwuk Hong, Republic of Korea
- 61. Margaretha Wewerinke-Singh, Vanuatu
- 62. Paul Williams, United States of America
- 63. Nikhil Narayan, United States of America
- 64. Seyed Ali Mousavi, Islamic Republic of Iran

Parliamentary Staff

65. Anne-Sophie Prins, Chief of Staff, Office of Ms. Barbara Lochbihler, MEP (Germany)

PGA Secretariat

- 66. Dr. David Donat Cattin, Secretary-General
- 67. Frederika Schweighoferova, Legal Officer, PGA's International Law and Human Rights Programme
- 68. Melissa Verpile, Legal Officer, PGA's International Law and Human Rights Programme
- 69. Marion Chahuneau Legal Officer, PGA's International Law and Human Rights Programme
- 70. Sofia Cossar, Communications Associate, PGA's International Law and Human Rights Programme